Ubuntu and Microsoft VirtualPC 2007 / Sun VirtualBox

As a CTO I am constantly keeping an eye on technology. I have heard a lot of good things about Ubuntu for a little while now. I recently tried to install Ubuntu 9.04 in a Microsoft VirtualPC 2007 (build 6.0.192.0) Virtual Machine. After a bit of reading up on the internet I managed to get it installed by modifying the boot loader but no matter what I did I could not get the networking to work with Microsoft VirtualPC 2007.

Tonight I gave up trying to get it to work in Microsoft VirtualPC 2007 and installed Sun VirtualBox. Sun VirtualBox 3.0.2 (free but non Open Source version) installed easily and without issue on Windows Vista SP2. Once VirtualBox was installed I installed Ubuntu 9.04 in a Virtual Machine without any issues. VirtualBox is as simple to use as Microsoft Virtual PC 2007.

My initial impression is that Ubuntu has a simple clean user interface. Impressed with what I have seen so far I decided to install it on an old NEC PowerMate VL4 PC (integrated NIC, video and sound). Again Ubuntu seemed to install without issue.

Why am I making such a big deal about successfully installing a Linux distribution well it is because previous distributions I have tried over the years have all met with failure (mostly) or a tortuous process to install.

Over the next few weeks I will try and use Ubuntu on a day to day basis.

Leave a Reply

